Sustainable Materials Vendors

From SLRWiki

The following is a listing of materials and suppliers of ecologically-oriented landscape materials available in the Santa Clara Valley and Bay Area, California. Please note that this is an informational listing only and does not constitute a referral or recommendation. Although we are enthusiastic about providing information about materials and suppliers of ecologically-oriented products, we cannot take responsibility for the performance of any of these products. It should be noted that in specifying 'green' products the professional should rely heavily on their own research and experience. For further information or to be added to this list, contact Stephanie Morris at StephLMorris@hotmail.com.

Contents

DEMOLITION

Materials Recycling/Salvage: Places to drop off as well as purchase materials

Zanker Road Landfill - http://www.z-best.com/Zankerrd/index.html

Whole House Building - http://www.driftwoodsalvage.com

Building REsources - http://www.buildingresources.org

Craig's List - http://www.craigslist.org

Construction Debris Recyclers - http://constructiondebrisrecyclers.com

Calmax/Promax - http://www.promaxreuse.org/Default.asp

Last Chance Mercantile - http://www.mrwmd.org/departments/lastchance.htm

Urban Ore - http://urbanore.citysearch.com

Freecycle - http://www.freecycle.org

Habitat for Humanity ReStore - 9235 San Leandro St, Oakland, CA 94603, http://www.habitateb.org/restore/donations.shtml

Ohmega Salvage - http://www.ohmegasalvage.com

List of Bay Area Salvage Yards - http://www.ohmegasalvage.com/Showroom%20Pages/salvage_list.htm

WATER SYSTEMS

Greywater

Re-Water Systems - http://www.rewater.com

WaterSprout - http://www.watersprout.org John Russell

Grey Water Guerrillas - http://www.greywaterguerrillas.org

Design Ecology - http://www.designecology.com

Cisterns/Rainwater Catchment

Rain Water Harvesting - Brad Lancaster - http://www.rainwaterharvesting.com

Aaron's Rain Barrels - http://www.ne-design.net

Real Goods - http://www.realgoods.com/shop/shop6.cfm?dv=6&dp=601&ts=2140219&kw=rain%20barrel

Rain Water HOG - http://www.rainwaterhog.com

Rain Harvesting Systems - http://www.rainharvestingsystems.com

Natural Pools

Whole Water - http://www.wholewater.com

Design Ecology - http://www.designecology.com

DRAINAGE

HDPE Triple Wall Pipe (instead of PVC):

Manufacturer: ADS - http://www.ads-pipe.com

Supplier: RV Cloud Irrigation - http://www.rvcloud.com/irrigation.html

Supplier: Ewing Irrigation Products - http://www.ewing1.com

Drywells/Percolation pits:

Hancor - http://www.hancor.com/product/pipe.html

Natural Home Building Source - http://www.thenaturalhome.com/drywellinstallation.htm

Drainage Grates

Iron Age Designs (reycled metal products) - http://www.ironagegrates.com

LANDSCAPE WALLS

Stacked concrete pieces:

Salvage them directly from the jobsite, or check salvage resources (above)

Drystack precast concrete blocks:

Manufacturer: Integrity Block - http://www.integrityblock.com

Manufacturer: Allan Block (Europa Style) - http://www.allanblock.com/Architect/retEngineerframe.htm

Manufacturer: Keystone - http://www.keystonewalls.com/pages/DesignPro_pages/DP_CM.html

Manufacturer: Basalite - (Country Manor Style) - http://www.basalite.com/default.jsp?InstRegionProdLineID=16&ProductID=70

Supplier: Peninsula Building Materials - http://www.peninsulamaterials.com

Supplier: Lyngso Garden Supply - http://www.lyngsogarden.com

CMU Block Alternate

Manufacturer: Integrity Block - http://www.integrityblock.com

Drystack natural Stone:

Graniterock - http://www.graniterock.com/cupertino.html

Peninsula Building Materials - http://www.peninsulamaterials.com

South Bay Materials - South Bay Materials 1781 Angela St, San Jose, CA 95125 Phone: (408) 977-1855

Lyngso Garden Supply - http://www.lyngsogarden.com

Plaster Alternate

Supplier: Vital Systems - Calime natural lime plaster - http://vitalsystems.com

PATIOS/PATHS/DRIVEWAYS

Recycled concrete base rock:

Supplier: Granite Rock - http://graniterock.com

Supplier: Zanker Road Landfill - http://www.z-best.com/ZMPF/finished_prod.html Contact Alex Sharp (408) 846-1574

Permeable Pavers:

Manufacturer: CalStone - several - http://www.calstone.com

Manufacturer: Basalite - SF Rima - http://www.basalite.com

Manufacturer: Pavestone - Uni-Eco Stone and InfiltraStone - http://www.pavestone.com

Manufacturer: Pavetech - Enviropave Spacers - http://www.pavetech.com/enviropave/page1.shtm

Manufacturer: Pacific Interlocking Pavingstone - Eco - http://www.pacinterlock.com/a_frame_product.html

Pervious Concrete:

Manufacturer: Permeable pavers: Permapave - http://www.permapave.com/flash/perma1.html

Supplier: Central Concrete - http://www.centralconcrete.com/products.html

Supplier: Granite Rock - http://graniterock.com

Supplier: Advanced Concrete Production Volumetric(mix onsite) - 408 847-8300

Natural Clay Interlocking Pavingstones:

Manufacturer: Pacific Clay - http://www.pacificclay.com

Manufacturer: Claypave - http://www.claypaveusa.com

Supplier: South Bay Materials - South Bay Materials 1781 Angela St, San Jose, CA 95125 Phone: (408) 977-1855

Supplier: Los Altos Garden Supply - http://www.gardensupply-la.com

Concrete Interlocking Pavingstones:

Manufacturer: Ackerstone - http://www.ackerstone.com

Manufacturer: Basalite - http://www.basalite.com

Manufacturer: Belgard - http://www.belgard.biz

Manufacturer: Calstone - http://www.calstone.com

Manufacturer: Pacific Interlock - http://www.pacinterlock.com

Supplier: Paver Depot - http://www.paverdepot.com

Supplier: Los Altos Garden Supply - http://www.gardensupply-la.com

Supplier: Peninsula Building Materials - http://www.peninsulamaterials.com

Supplier: Graniterock - http://www.graniterock.com/cupertino.html

Natural Stone on Sand:

Supplier: Peninsula Building Materials - http://www.peninsulamaterials.com

Supplier: South Bay Materials - South Bay Materials 1781 Angela St, San Jose, CA 95125 Phone: (408) 977-1855

Supplier: Lyngso Garden Supply - http://www.lyngsogarden.com

Supplier: Los Altos Garden Supply - http://www.gardensupply-la.com

Supplier: Graniterock - http://www.graniterock.com/cupertino.html

Crushed Stone Pathway/Patio Systems:

Manufacturer: Granite Crete - http://www.granitecrete.com/

Manufacturer: Stabilizer Solutions - Natural PaveXL Resin - http://sspco.com/naturalpavexl/naturalpave_OV.html

Gravel Pave

Manufacturer: Invisible Structures - http://www.invisiblestructures.com

Crushed Stone:

Supplier: Peninsula Building Materials - http://www.peninsulamaterials.com

Supplier: South Bay Materials - South Bay Materials 1781 Angela St, San Jose, CA 95125 Phone: (408) 977-1855

Supplier: Lyngso Garden Supply - http://www.lyngsogarden.com

Supplier: Los Altos Garden Supply - http://www.gardensupply-la.com

Path/Patio Edging

Permaloc: (Aluminum - 100% recyclable): http://www.permaloc.com/

Reycled Plastic Edging: Los Altos Garden Supply- http://www.gardensupply-la.com

Recycled Alternatives

Rubber Sidewalks and courtyard pavers - http://rubbersidewalks.com

FENCES/ARBORS/WOODWORK

FSC Certified Lumber (ACQ, Redwood, IPE, etc)

Hayward Lumber - http://www.haywardlumber.com

Salvaged Lumber

Restoration Timber - http://www.restorationtimber.com

Whole House Building Supply - http://www.driftwoodsalvage.com

Composite Decking

Trex - http://www.trex.com

ForeverDeck (100% recycled plastic) - http://plasticlumberyard.com/foreverdeck.htm

CareFree Deck/TriMaxStructural Lumber - http://www.carefree-products.com

WeatherBest - http://www.weatherbest.com

SOIL AMENDMENTS

Non Toxic Corn Gluten Pre-emergent

Totally Organic Supply - 1355 N. 10th Street, San Jose, CA 95112 (408) 342.3340

Peaceful Valley Farm Supply - PO Box 2209, Grass Valley, CA 95945 888-784-1722 - http://www.groworganic.com

Compost Tea

Lyngso Garden Supply - http://www.lyngsogarden.com

Organic Bulk Compost

Wheeler Farms - http://www.wheelerfarms.net/frame.htm

Ciardella's (Clod Bster) - http://www.togarden.com

South Bay Materials (Super Humus Compost) - South Bay Materials 1781 Angela St, San Jose, CA 95125 Phone: (408) 977-1855

BFI Organics (Super Humus Compost) - http://www.interquix.com/organics/

Organic Fertilizers

Supplier: Common Ground Organic Garden Supply - http://www.commongroundinpaloalto.org

Organic Material Exchange - mulch, manure, compost - http://www.omexchange.org

Manufacturer: Down to Earth Distributors - http://www.down-to-earth.com

Manufacturer: Dr. Earth - http://www.drearth.net

Supplier: Peaceful Valley Farm Supply - PO Box 2209, Grass Valley, CA 95945 888-784-1722 - http://www.groworganic.com

PLANTING

California Native Plant Nurseries (see also http://www.gardeningwithnatives.com)

Elkhorn Native Plant Nursery, Moss Landing - http://www.elkhornnursery.com

Yerba Buena Nursery, Woodside - http://www.yerbabuenanursery.com Yerba Buena Nursery

Native Revival Nursery, Aptos - http://www.nativerevival.com/about_us.html

Central Coast Wilds, Santa Cruz - http://www.centralcoastwilds.com

Gold Rush Nursery, Soquel - http://www.goldrushnursery.com

Cornflower Farms, Elk Grove - http://www.cornflowerfarms.com/contact_us.htm

Rana Creek, Carmel - http://www.ranacreek.com

Bay Natives, San Francisco - http://www.baynatives.com

Mostly Natives, Tomales - http://www.mostlynatives.com

CalFlora, Santa Rosa - http://www.calfloranursery.com

Specialty Nurseries

Greenlee Nursery - Ornamental Grasses - http://www.greenleenursery.com

Green Roofs:

Green Roofs - Paul Kephart - http://www.greenroofs.org

Living Walls:

Recycled plastic modular system - http://www.ELTeasygreencom

Design Ecology - http://www.designecology.com

ELD Easy Green - http://www.ELTeasygreen.com

IRRIGATION

ABS or galvanized pipe (instead of PVC)

Supplier: RV Cloud Irrigation - http://www.rvcloud.com/irrigation.html

Water-Conserving Drip Systems

Manufacturer: Rainbird (Xerigation, dripline) - http://www.rainbird.com/drip/index.htm

Manufacturer: Netafim Techline - http://www.netafim-usa-landscape.com/Landscape

Supplier: Ewing - http://www.ewing1.com/general/ews_fra_main.htm

Supplier: RV Cloud Irrigation - http://www.rvcloud.com/irrigation.html

ET Smart Controllers

Hydropoint (WeatherTRAK) - http://www.hydropoint.com

Irritrol Systems (Smart Dial) - http://www.irritrolsystems.com/controllers/smartdial.html

Toro (Intelli- Sense): http://www.toro.com/irrigation/res/smturfcont/intelli/index.html

ET Water - http://www.etwater.com/public/index.html

MULCH/TOPDRESSING

Free Tree Trimmings for Mulch

Organic Materials Exchange - wood chips, manure, compost - http://www.omexchange.org

Safe and Beautiful Trees - http://www.thecareoftrees.com/contact.asp

Urban Tree Management - http://www.urbantreemanagement.com

Cagwin & Dorward Tree Care - http://www.cagwin.com/services/tree%20care/index.html

Lodes Tree Surgeon - 408 434-9898

Asplundh - http://www.asplundh.com/

TruGreen LandCare - 2000 Oakland road, San Jose - 408 321 8733 (open Mon thru Fri) Self serve - bring your own truck/shovels

Pro Chip Mulch (recycled wood mulch)

Manufacturer: BFI Organics - http://www.interquix.com/organics/

Supplier: South Bay Materials - 1781 Angela St, San Jose, CA 95125 (408) 977-1855

Recycled Glass Cullet:

Red Shovel Glass Company (at Building ReSources) - http://www.buildingresources.org/BRredShovel.html

Rolls of Cardboard for Sheet Mulching:

Monahan Paper 510 835-4670 (East Bay)

North Bay Paper - http://www.northbaypaper.com/

SPECIALTY GARDEN ELEMENTS

Site Furniture

Bamboo patio furniture - http://www.evolutionbamboo.com

Recycled Milk Jug Furniture - http://www.bytheyard.net

Benches - Tom Schot - http://www.tsbenches.com/index.htm

The Wooden Duck - http://www.thewoodenduck.com

Containers and Pots

Pottery Planet, Soquel - http://www.potteryplanet.com

Garden Accents, Gilroy - http://www.garden-accents.net/

Nor Cal Pottery, San Leandro - http://www.norcalpottery.com/contact.html

Mabury Pottery, 1880 Mabury Road at Educational Park Drive, San Jose. Call Tina Pham: 408.390.7890

Pottery and Beyond , 4055 Hubbard Street in Emeryville. Call Alex Montenegro: (510)428-1881 potteryandbeyond@sbcglobal.net.

Countertop Materials

Manufacturer: BottleStone Recycled Glass countertops - http://www.bottlestone.com

Supplier: Eco Design Resources (Santa Cruz and San Carlos) - http://www.ecodesignresources.com

Tile Manufacturer: Sandhill Industries - 100% Recycled glass tiles - http://www.sandhillind.com

Manufacturer: Terra Green Ceramics - Recycled glass tiles - http://www.terragreenceramics.com

Manufacturer: Bedrock Industries - 100% Recycled glass tiles - http://www.bedrockindustries.com/arch.php?catid=29

Metal and Iron Artisans

LMNO Arts - http://www.lmnoarts.com

Brian's Welding - http://www.brianswelding.com

Bill Sorich - http://www.billsorich.com

Recycled Iron Tree Grates and Drain Grates

Iron Age Designs - http://www.ironage-online.com/

Reclaimed Mosaic Tiles

Building ReSources - http://www.buildingresources.org/index.html

Landscape Lighting

LED Lighting: DG Lights - http://www.dglights.com

LED Lighting: Harvest Moon - http://www.harvestmoonlighting.com/index.htm

LED Lighting: Hadco LED - http://www.hadcoled.com/

Children's play equipment and surfaces

Rubberific Play Surface - http://www.rubberificmulch.com/benefits.asp

SoftPave/PlayGuard - http://www.carlsurf.com/about/index.html

Paints/Finishes

AFM SafeCoat - http://www.afmsafecoat.com